Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Gavin tutors in Calabasas, CA

Gavin H.

Private tutor in Calabasas, CA

5Gavin H.

23 reviews

Education

University of Hawaii at Manoa - BS, Meteorology , Missouri State University - Master of Science, Geoscience

Experience

I have always had a knack for math, and therefore it has always been one of my favorite subjects. When I was younger I was always the one my peers came to for help with math work of any sort. Through my experiences, I gained knowledge in the areas of physics, math, and chemistry, and eventually I pursued a degree in Meteorology and minored in Mathematics. I graduated from the University of Hawaii at Manoa in May of 2012, and during college I began tutoring in Pre-Calculus and more advanced Calculus courses. I helped students that were pursuing anything from law to engineering. Teaching such a diverse group of students has led me to adapt to an approachable teaching style. I help students understand the basics of what is being asked, and work from there. It's my goal to help the students truly understand the fundamentals of the questions, so that come test time, they'll be able to grasp what the problem requires and solve accordingly. I like to make it fun and puzzle-like for the student. I understand that it can be frustrating trying to solve for the right answer and not always succeeding, but I definitely enjoy helping them succeed and gain confidence in their skills. I think this success transfers over into daily life. I'm originally from Los Angeles, California. My interests include weather, exercising, video games, hanging out with friends and family, my Portuguese water dogs, and exploring the world through hiking!

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Hiking, Weather, Exercising, Tennis, Video Games, Hanging with friends

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!